Cornish College Board

Cornish College is an incorporated company limited by guarantee. The College Board comprises 12 members responsible for the Governance of Cornish College. The Principal, who is appointed by the Board, is responsible for the day-to-day management of the College. 

It is the role of the Principal and the senior leadership team to manage the College in accordance with the strategic direction set by the College Board. The Board does not have a management function.

Our principles

In all our policies and practices, the College supports and promotes the principles and practice of Australian democracy, including a commitment to:

  • Elected government
  • The rule of law
  • Equal rights for all before the law
  • Freedom of religion
  • Freedom of speech and association
  • The values of openness and tolerance

Board membership

The Board comprises individuals with a diversity of skills, qualifications and experience and consists of:

  • No fewer than ten and not more than twelve members, including office bearers
  • At least three of whom shall be female and three of whom shall be males; and the Principal
Office bearers

The office bearers of the College consist of a Chairperson (Chair), a Vice Chairperson and a Treasurer. Office bearers are elected for a term of three years.


A Board member other than the Principal will not retain office for more than three calendar years or beyond the third Annual General Meeting following the member’s appointment (whichever is the longer period) without being re-elected.

At the Annual Meeting each year, one third of the Board in office, other than the Principal, must retire from office.

Retiring members can be re-elected, but a director shall not be entitled to be elected for more than three consecutive terms, unless by special resolution for one further term of three years.


The skills and experience required by the Board may include, but not necessarily limited to, the following areas:

  • Accounting and finance
  • Governance
  • Risk and compliance management
  • Education
  • Legal
  • The Uniting Church in Australia
  • Business systems and commercial management
  • Property
  • Community, stakeholder engagement and marketing
  • Executive management
  • Information technology strategy and governance
  • Strategy
  • Policy development

There are five sub-committees of the Board. Find out more about their roles and responsibilities.


The Cornish College Constitution details the College’s objectives, powers, Board membership and duties. 

Board Members

For more information about each of our Board members, click on their image below.

Max Verberne

Company Director

Tara Broderick

Deputy Chair
Social Worker

Nicola Forrest


Chris Begg

Uniting Church Representative

Rev Clair Dawe

Uniting Church Minister

Lister Hannah

International Educator

Blair Gardner

Operations Manager

Trevor Gurr

Program Manager

Dr Andrew Maher


Dr Bev Menner


Bruce Stradling


School Tours

Discover Cornish College

Find out more about education for a sustainable future. Join a school tour and meet our inspiring teachers and wonderful students.

Latest News

Innovating simply a matter of course

Click to

Cornish students selected for Monash Scholars Program

Click to

Year 12 student named State Champion in the Plain English Speaking Awards

Click to

Instilling confidence in kids from the outset

Click to
Parent Login
Translate »